Author Topic: Simple DIY bumpers (2nd gen 4runner)  (Read 25149 times)

Early

• Offline Crawler Guru
  • Turtle Points: 67
  • Male Posts: 470
  • Member since Oct '09
  • The Buddhas ridin shotie
    • View Profile
Simple DIY bumpers (2nd gen 4runner)
« on: Nov 20, 2009, 04:54:45 PM »
 :beer: cheers to headaches.

So to start the story. When i got my runner it had no rear bumper. I half liked the unfinished look. Some one ran into me bending my front bumper. Original plan was ARB but decide i could do it cheaper. much cheaper. First shot was a plate bumper that end horrible at hour 10 into the build. It had been a while since i played with metal, (im a carpenter). Second shot and thats how we get here.

Rear bumper. I had played with the idea of just using the frame mounted hitch but decided to go with square tube. It measures about 3"x3". I cut down the existing hitch bracket to mount my square tube too. That bracket is a good 3/8" thick.

My plan is to eventually add sides that would protect the lower quarter panel (?). I plan to move my axles around later and when i do that a minor "boat side" will be in order. I would like to basically take everything out in the rear corner below the inside box and closing it all off.

And i would also like to add a wheel carrier for jerry, spare, and a little rear protection from stupid drivers. I have thought about doing one from each side. I've seen allot of rovers do this so that the pass would carry a spare and driver side would carry a water and petrol can. But thats on that back burner till after winter and i decide on what tires to run.
1994  4Runner w/ full doors

My hands are dirty cause i drive a yota

Early [OP]

• Offline Crawler Guru
  • Member since Oct '09
    • View Profile
Re: Simple DIY bumpers (2nd gen 4runner)
« Reply #1 on: Nov 20, 2009, 05:06:54 PM »